Valentine’s recap and bridleless hunter courses.

This weekend was absolutely lovely, and I have a very special boy to thank for it.

Valentine’s started out wonderful – Erik woke me up with breakfast in bed and a beautiful bouquet of flowers. The card said: “For you, me, and us- three. Hopefully much longer than these flowers can be. I love you, Erik” Isn’t that the sweetest? I’m SO lucky to have him!


Valentine’s flowers from Erik

We hung out in bed cuddling and being lazy, then finally got up to go check out washers and dryers since there was a dope President’s Day sale going on at Sears. We’ve (well, mostly him) been saving up for the amazing Kenmore Elite HE5t steam pair for quite some time now. I know this will probably sound very 1950s-housewife-lame, but, he bought me a washer and dryer!! I’m SO excited!! These things are friggen incredible. They’ve got tons of settings and buttons and fun things to play with and they’re beautiful and QUIET (can barely tell they’re even on) and OMG I’m beyond happy. 😀

Ran a few more errands, came home and hung out with Couch for a while, then went out to dinner with Kathryn and her boyfriend Seth. We went to Phoenix and then to Sheridan’s, this cool 1950s-esque frozen custard place.

Sunday was spent sleeping, being lazy, and watching the handyman fix stuff around our house, including patching a very small gap where the roof over the house meets the roof over the garage because squirrels were getting in. He did a great job, except that now we have two squirrels trapped in our attic! We’ve set no-kill traps but so far haven’t been able to catch the little bastards. I can hear them trying to claw their way out and I’m praying they don’t hit an electrical wire. Eep.

Had Monday off for President’s Day (thanks work!) and spent it working on RidingResource.com and doing laundry in my awesome new washer and dryer!

Yesterday I had my weekly lesson at Huntcliff and rode Mr. Wally, the love of my life, again. My trainer had told me not to use a bridle, just a halter and reins. (Note: for all you non-horsey people, this means I would be riding with no bit in the horse’s mouth. The Bit is a major part of your steering/braking mechanism.) I was a little nervous at first because I was worried I wouldn’t be able to control him using just my seat and my legs, but after a little warmup at the trot/canter, I was surprised at how incredibly easy it was! We wound up jumping for a good 40 minutes – full hunter courses of 8 to 10 fences, 2’6″ to 3′. It was the highest I’ve ever jumped, the most fences I’ve ever done in one course, and I did it all with just a halter! Holy crap it was FUN!!! I had such a great time and Wally was wonderful and I’m still all smiley just thinking about it. I can’t wait to do it again. No more bridles for me! Woo!

Oh, and I finally got around to scanning that article from Trail Rider Magazine that I was in. Check out the picture HERE!

Leave a Reply

